Teme Valley Trail – Bromyard
An abandoned Shepherd’s cottage, a moated mansion & an ancient downland Racecourse.
Bromyard is quoted as being one of Herefordshire’s most ancient towns dating back to the Norman Conquest, and it still has a church with many Norman features. Famous for its cider making and festivals it was also a centre for horse racing in the 1800’s. The race track on Bromyard Downs has since been replaced in part by a golf course. However, some of the old race track can still be seen.
Another fascinating place is the timber-framed ancient manor house at NT Lower Brockhampton Court. The house is the original property on the estate and is still surrounded by a moat that has a gatehouse bridge. On the far edge of the estate near the downs (and the walk) lie the ruins of a shepherd’s cottage that dates from 1895. The house is now in a perilous state, so onlookers can view, but you are advised not to enter.
Walk Start Location
Approximate Postcode: HR7 4DY
Grid Reference: SO 65435 54826